Can the iPhone 11 Pro Max battery last a day? – iGeneration

[ad_1]

" The autonomy of the iPhone should never be a problem Says Apple about the iPhone 11 Pro Max, for which it promises up to 5h more autonomy than on a 2018 XS Max.

Apple has its battery of automatic tests but we wanted to see what it was more concretely, with uses as we can know in everyday life. Scenarios that can sometimes be thwarted by unforeseen events. And in this case, having a battery reserve under the elbow is essential.

First a short detour through Geekbench 4 with its battery discharge test that we had already used on the XS Max. The screen is kept lit continuously, at maximum, and the application chains calculations (network access is active). The XS Max had held 4:28 to this regime, our 11 Pro Max has resisted 2h more, or 6h 40 activity. Version 5 of Geekbench having not retained this test, it will be taken with a certain distance but it gives a first indication.

Monday: 26% at 22:30

My morning ritual usually consists of using news apps like our app iGeneration or that of World. Then I have between 30 and 45 minutes of one way and return. A public transport time that I most often spend listening to music with Spotify and watching shows with Netflix or other streaming video apps (always in Bluetooth with AirPods).

Terminus of the tram to go to MacG

That day I started at 6:30 with 100% battery. I have consulted The world almost half an hour before leaving, then I listened to Spotify a few minutes before going on with Netflix for about twenty minutes by subway.

I pushed a little more use of Spotify: almost 2 hours in all. During the lunch break I tried some Apple Arcade games for 20 minutes and, the rest of the time, I exchanged about fifteen minutes in Mail and as much in WhatsApp.

In the late afternoon, head to a department store for night shopping. Having enough battery I used Waze for a half-hour ride, without plugging the phone into the car. Once there, I made product photos or places for a quarter of an hour in total.

A banal warehouse is an opportunity to have fun with the ultra-wide angle …

By leaving at 20:30 I still had a third of the battery full. I could have used Waze again but, cautious, I preferred to do without it. Around 22:30 I put the iPhone on its support load, it remained 26%. Widely enough to do if the evening had gone on. I never used the energy saving mode, as for the brightness of the screen it was most often at 3/4, except to watch series where I pushed it to the bottom.

Saturday / Sunday: 21% at 0h30

Direction Annecy. The iPhone is unplugged at 9am, battery filled block. Great sun, walk in town and boat trip on the lake, it's an opportunity to enjoy the camera, play with the ultra-wide angle to embrace the landscape or zoom in on the rich homes aboard lake.

I did not use the iPhone at all during the trip, it was another one that was used for the trip with Waze. Once on the scene, I mostly used it for photos and videos, that's about 40 minutes spent in Camera and Photos apps until mid-afternoon.

An unexpected event then disrupts the schedule. I have to borrow another vehicle and use Waze for a little over half an hour. I use the iPhone on its battery, there is no lightning cable in this car.

The day will be longer than expected and I must remain reachable, as a precaution I switch to energy saving a little after 18h and I limit the use of the phone to instant messaging.

That day – and mostly all night long – I'm going to use WhatsApp for at least 1:15, plus a dozen minutes in Messages, not to mention the good half-hour to take notice of multiple notifications via the locked screen.

Back to Lyon – without having the opportunity to recharge the iPhone and using another GPS to save my battery – I put the phone in charge at 00:30, his battery was still breathing: 21%.

Thursday: 25% to 23h

The day will be spent in the Drôme, it takes a little less than an hour and a half to reach our destination. It is 9am, the battery is full, I try the devil and I launch Waze without plugging the iPhone and leaving the brightness to 3/4.

After a handful of photos and videos (a good fifteen minutes in Camera) I play the security and I switch to energy saving. It is 13h at that time, the indicator shows 74%. I use very little of the phone the rest of the time, I just exchange with WhatsApp, Signal and Messages for a little over 30 minutes.

At the end of the afternoon, return to Lyon but traffic jams lengthen the return. I still use Waze without powering the iPhone, to see. By cons I down a little brightness to third while ensuring a perfectly legible screen. Once arrived, the application of Google will have served me in all for 3:20 that day, without food.

In the early evening, the iPhone still serves for 40 good minutes for Netflix, with the screen reset to 50% brightness. It is always set to power saving mode. At 23h I put the iPhone recharge for the night, it tells me 25% battery.

Wednesday / Thursday: 0% at 19:30

We will see if it is possible to hold with a single charge over two days. The first starts at 6:30 with the battery full, and this Wednesday I have again a very routine: my 20 minutes of series, almost an hour in several news apps, 1:30 to listen to music and a quarter of time to take photos.

A day that does not really stress the iPhone, for proof at 23:00 it indicates a hearty 48%. I leave it on the night table, without power. Until 3am I left it in airplane mode not to be disturbed, then I activate only the Wi-Fi to very briefly note some messages, but I forget to switch back to airplane mode before going back to sleep.

Thursday morning, at 6:30, it remains 45%. I decide not to put the iPhone back in charge to see how long it can still accompany me. At 13h, the battery is 18%, I activate the energy saving mode. Past 5:30 pm the indicator went down to 3%.

Since the beginning of the morning I have accumulated 1 hour in Netflix, a good half hour of music listening and another big time to alternate between The world, Instagram, Mail and several couriers. It is finally in the early evening that the iPhone makes weapons, it is 19:30.

Conclusion

These examples show that you can easily spend a full day until late evening on a single battery charge and still have in reserve. It is not even necessary to juggle brightness or energy saving settings, even if they can be of great help if needed.

The usage profiles are as varied as the services offered by an iPhone. It may be noted that there is virtually no use of the telephone function in these examples. I never spent an hour or two hanging on the phone. This is not an oversight, over the last three months my bills show a cumulative 1h 15 calls, and even 12 minutes only on the third …

The claim that the battery of an iPhone 11 Pro Max will not get in your way during the day is not exaggerated. The counterpart is a fairly massive phone (by its price too …) but if autonomy is a major criterion for you, it is a model that fulfills its mission.

[ad_2]

Leave a comment